National Nuclear Physics Summer School

The 36th National Nuclear Physics Summer School (NNPSS) will be held from July 15 - July 26, 2024 at Indiana University, Bloomington campus. This summer school is open to graduate students and junior postdocs in experimental or theoretical nuclear physics.

The school consists of ten days of lecture series, special topic seminars, and discussions. The lectures are designed to provide a broad and pedagogical grounding spanning the major areas of nuclear physics, both experiment and theory. Students and lecturers are encouraged to continue discussion outside of the program hours over meals. On the weekend, an activity day at Lake Monroe is planned, with the remaining time free for students to socialize and explore Bloomington.

The summer school can accommodate 50 students. For accepted students, the summer school will cover lodging at an on-campus dormitory and meals at the on-campus dining halls. Students are responsible for their own travel expenses.


See application page for updates on admissions, and e-mail with questions.  There is no registration fee.

Please email with any questions. Frequently asked questions have been answered on the Application page.

Lecture Topics





Electric Dipole Moment


PV Scattering


Relativistic Heavy Ions


Electron-Ion Collider


Hadron Spectroscopy


QCD on the Lattice


Nuclear Astrophysics


Nuclear Structure


Nuclear Reactions


Machine Learning/AI


Organizing Committee

  • Prof. Jinfeng Liao
  • Prof. Walter Pettus
  • Prof. W. Michael Snow
  • Prof. Scott Wissink


Code of Conduct

All participants, students, and lecturers are expected to conduct themselves in accordance with the American Physical Society's code of conduct for scientific meetings.



For more information, please visit the Institute for Nuclear Theory's website for the National Nuclear Physics Summer School.


We acknowledge support from the National Science Foundation, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Facility for Rare Isotope Beams at Michigan State University, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and Jefferson Lab. Hosted by the Indiana University Bloomington Department of Physics and Center for Exploration of Energy & Matter.