News Article - Oct 10, 2012

Teppei Katori (Ph.D. 2008) to receive 2013 Henry Primakoff Award for Early-Career Particle Physics

October 10, 2012


Teppei Katori (Ph.D. 2008) has been selected to receive the 2013 Henry Primakoff Award for Early-Career Particle Physics from the American Physical Society. Teppei has been recognized for his outstanding contributions in accelerator-based neutrino experiments, notably his cross section measurements and searches for Lorentz and CPT violation. The Award is given annually to recognize outstanding contributions made by early-career physicists. It consists of a certificate and a monetary award, which will be presented at the APS April Meeting in Denver, CO, April 13-16, 2013, at a special Ceremonial Session during which Teppei will give an invited lecture.

As a graduate student and doctoral candidate at CEEM, Teppei Katori worked with the Neutrino group under advisor Dr. Rex Tayloe. His doctoral thesis was entitled "A Measurement of the Muon Neutrino Charged Current Quasielastic Interaction and a Test of Lorentz Violation with the MiniBooNE Experiment."

Teppei has already received a number of awards for his work in particle physics. In May 2012 he received the 2012 IUPAP C11 Young Scientist Prize for outstanding achievement in particle physics. The prize, awarded by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, consisted of an IUPAP medal and a monetary award. It was presented during the 36th International Conference on High Energy Physics in Melbourne, Australia, in July 2012, where Teppei gave an invited plenary lecture.

Teppei is currently a Senior Postdoctoral Associate at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology working on the MicroBooNE experiment at Fermi National Laboratory.