News Article - Jan 31, 2017

CEEM faculty emeritus member Dr. J. Timothy Londergan elected Fellow of the American Physical Society

January 31, 2017


CEEM faculty emeritus member Dr. J. Timothy Londergan has been elected as a Fellow of the American Physical Society. Dr Londergan was nominated for the Fellowship by the Division of Nuclear Physics in 2016, and the award was presented at the “April” Meeting of the American Physical Society held in Washington, DC, January 28-31, 2017. His citation read: “For work on approximate parton symmetries, such as charge and flavor symmetry, and for models of the scattering behavior of quarks and hadrons.” The criterion for election to an American Physical Society Fellowship is “exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education. Fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one's professional peers.”

J. Timothy Londergan (D.Phil. Oxford University, 1969) was a Rhodes Scholar who joined the IU faculty in 1973. His research area is theoretical nuclear physics. Professor Londergan is the author of over 100 research articles, 60 invited talks at conferences and workshops, and a book on the physics of low-dimensional systems. He has held consulting appointments at institutes in Australia, Switzerland, and India. He served as chair of the physics department for eight years and served three terms as director of the IU Nuclear Theory Center. He also served as Director of the Wells Scholar Program at Indiana University’s Hutton Honors College.